• The current thelemic time and date is:

    ☉ in 27° ♋ / ☽ in 5° ♑ / Dies: ♀ / Anno Vx, æræ legis

The Thelemic Holidays

The Thelemic Holidays


Do what thou wilt shall be the whole of the Law.


The Thelemic System of holidays are based upon both events in the life of Aleister Crowley like his marriage to Rose, and the dates that he received The Book of the Law, on the movements and alignments of celestial bodies such as the Equinoxes and Solstices, and also at certain stages of the life of each individual like birth and death.

This system is derived from the following verses of The Book of the Law:


But ye, o my people, rise up & awake!

Let the rituals be rightly performed with joy & beauty!
There are rituals of the elements and feasts of the times.
A feast for the first night of the Prophet and his Bride!
A feast for the three days of the writing of the Book of the Law.
A feast for Tahuti and the child of the Prophet—secret, O Prophet!
A feast for the Supreme Ritual, and a feast for the Equinox of the Gods.
A feast for fire and a feast for water; a feast for life and a greater feast for death!
A feast every day in your hearts in the joy of my rapture!
A feast every night unto Nu, and the pleasure of uttermost delight!“- AL II:34-43


The Rituals of the Elements are observed at the Equinoxes and Solstices.


The Feasts of the Times are celebrated as follows:


  • The Feast for the First Night of the Prophet and His Bride– August 12.
  • The Feast for the Three Days of the Writing of the Book of the Law– April 8, 9 and 10.
  • The Feast for Tahuti and the child of the Prophet– This particular feast is of a character suited only to initiates.
  • The Feast for the Supreme Ritual, aka “The Invocation of Horus”- March 20.
  • The Feast for the Equinox of the Gods is held on the Spring Equinox Proper, but is often celebrated March 20th as well- Marks the Thelemic New Year.
  • The Feast for Life (sometimes incorrectly referred to as the “Lesser Feast”)- Celebrated upon the birth of a child.
  • The Feast for Water– Celebrated at the onset of puberty for a girl.
  • The Feast for Fire– Celebrated at the onset of puberty for a boy.
  • The Feast for Death or “Greater Feast”- Celebrated upon the death of an individual.


         Next article: Thelemic Customs


Love is the law, love under will.

Comments are closed